Lost and Found

Lost and Found

I got lost

       in my anger, in my pain

 

I got lost somewhere

between truth and lies,

somewhere between God and Christ

 

I got lost in between what he said and did

I got lost waiting

for him to feel that way again

waiting for him to be what he never could be

– a friend

 

I got lost in my layoffs and waiting for the next job

I got lost in my hurt, waiting on God

 

I got lost in him

I got lost without him

I got lost longing for him

I got lost focusing on them and forgetting about me

I got lost somewhere between dreams and fallacy

lost on the road to making my dreams a reality

 

I got lost in between real friends and fake ones

between needing friends and actually having them

I got lost somewhere between dark and the light

between wrong and right

I got lost somewhere between want and need

I got lost between loving myself and low self-esteem

I got lost trying to find my value

after being shown I had no worth

 

I got lost between feeling the hurt

and swallowing the pain

I got lost in learning how to live again

I got lost between waiting

and wanting to be found

…I got lost

 

But Instead of picking up the broken pieces

I left them there and

decided to get up whole

knowing my value instead of believing what I was told

instead of believing the lies I was sold

 

I found

that somewhere inside of my weakness, God was making me strong

that He was making me right out of situations gone wrong

 

I found that even though I got lost in life

and even though my heart broke a million times

even though I lived years in pain

in getting lost, I found myself again

Copyright © 2015 Erika Morgan

All rights reserved

Excerpt from my book Rhythms in Me

 

Leave a Reply

