Stay in The Climb

I received an email from Tyler Perry’s mailing list the other day that was so powerful, it brought me to tears.  He talked about how tired he was after the filming and release of his latest movie and how he went to Hawaii to rest and mountain climb.  He talked about how he did not realize how high he had climbed until he reached the top and turned around to see the view.  He asked his friend when did they get so high and she responded “It was in the climb”.  He went on to talk about life, hard times, working toward your dreams and how sometimes it seems like you are not getting anywhere in life.  I know that I am not doing his words justice so I will actually post a little bit of his message at the end of my post.

All of us have been through something difficult in life.  Rough times come in many shapes, sized and forms.  They can be in relation to money, relationships, career or any other area of life and sometimes you feel like you don’t know which way to turn and where to go from there.  Well I’m here to tell you, as a living witness of rough times, it gets better.  You have a strength inside of you that you don’t even know is there until you need it to arise.  Think back to the last time you went through something painful, something hurtful, something that you thought you couldn’t make it through…and you did didn’t you?  It worked its way out, one way or the other and you’re still here, still standing, still moving forward in life.  If you give up, you won’t make it through to the other side…and there is an “other” side to what you’re going through.  The key is to go through it and not set up shop in the middle of it.

Don’t give it.  Don’t stop moving.  Don’t stop believing.  You will make it through.  You will come out on top.  God will not allow you to fail.  STAY STRONG, STAY IN THE CLIMB and MOVE FORWARD IN FAITH.

I leave you with some of the powerful life changing words from Mr. Tyler Perry…
God Bless,
Riki

Excerpt from Tyler Perry’s Email “Stay in the Climb”
I said to my friend, “When did we get this high?”, and she said, “It was
in the climb.”  I couldn’t help but think about life – mine and maybe even
yours.  I thought about how hard it had been for me chasing down my dream.  I thought about how hard it can be to believe sometimes.  I thought about  the entire struggle, all of the pain, all of the hope, all of the doubt.  I thought about the times I was working a dead-end job, trying to believe; moving through day-to-day with my head down just taking one step at a time, some small, some big ones, wanting to give up; wanting to stop and sit for a while; wanting to lay in my sorrow; nobody believing in me;  nobody thinking it would come to pass and never realizing that every step was taking me closer to higher.  That hike was painful, it hurt, but through it all I was getting higher and had no idea how high I was.  That’s what it’s like to chase down a dream.
Sometimes in life dreams are hard to follow, like that climb.  You don’t
know how high you’re going or even if you’re moving, but every step, even when you can’t see what’s behind you, will take you closer to your goals.  It’s in the climb.  I know you may be struggling right now, but you’re in the climb; things may be hard right now, but you’re in the climb; people may not believe in you, but it’s part of the climb.  They may take shots at you, but stay in the climb; you may have to stand alone, but you’re in the climb.  Even if you’re not where you want to be right now, I want to say to you what she said to me, “This is the best part, now turn around.”  Look how far you’ve come.  God has not brought you this far to leave you.
Stay in the climb.
Leave a Reply

